Marketing Code of Conduct for Commercial Communications of Alcoholic Beverages in Taiwan


Pre-amble

This code is adapted from EFRD Common Standards for Commercial Communications which has been approved by all member companies of Taiwan Beverage Alcohol Forum (TBAF). The purpose of this code is to achieve a high level of compliance in Taiwan. The code does not replace relevant national laws or codes but represents a common basis for application.

The Common Standards for Commercial Communications are based in the guidelines developed in 1994 by The Amsterdam Group (TAG) and revised by the European Forum of Responsible Drinking (EFRD) again in July 2010. The guidelines reflect many of the issues addressed by the European Council of Ministers in the 2001 “Recommendation on the Drinking of Alcohol by Young People, in particular Children and Adolescents”.

Purpose of these Standards

Taiwan Beverage Alcohol Forum recognizes that the responsible promotion of alcoholic beverages is in the interests of the industry and society as a whole. All alcoholic drinks, including beer, whisky, wine, spirit, and all other forms of beverage alcohol selling and producing here in the island, should only be promoted in a socially responsible manner to those who are over 18s; where national legal purchase age requires. The guidelines apply to all kind commercial communications of alcohol companies and the purpose of the guidelines is to ensure alcohol sales and marketing communications do not encourage consumer in any kind of irresponsible drinking manner.


The attached Standards endorsed by the Taiwanese alcoholic beverages industry are intended to be common standards for implementation throughout the industry of alcoholic beverages.

Commercial Communications

Commercial Communications are defined herein as: "All brand advertising or marketing communications to consumers, regardless of the medium used (e.g. print, broadcast media, labeling, packaging, internet, new technologies and sponsorship) and including consumer and trade promotion, merchandising and point of sale material."

Commercial Communications do not include:

  • Non-advertising materials or statements to the media, government agencies or the public about issues of societal concern such as the risks or benefits related to the consumption of beverages and educational messages about responsible drinking or the role of alcohol in society.
Basic Principles

Commercial Communications should:

  • Be legal, decent, honest and truthful and conform to accepted principles of fair competition and good business practice;
  • Demonstrate a strong sense of social responsibility and be based on principles of fairness and good faith;
  • Not in any circumstances be unethical or otherwise impugn human dignity and integrity.
  1. Misuse
    1. Commercial Communications should not encourage excessive or irresponsible consumption, nor present abstinence or moderation in any negative way.
    2. Commercial Communications should not show people who appear to be drunk or in any way imply that drunkenness is acceptable.
    3. Commercial Communications should not suggest any association with violent, aggressive, illegal, dangerous or antisocial behavior.
    4. Commercial Communications should not suggest any association with, acceptance of, or allusion to drug culture or illicit drugs.
    5. A responsible drinking message should be included in all print, TV, Cinema advertising and on company & brand websites. The responsible drinking message must be clearly legible and noticeable on all the advertisements including websites.
  2. Minors
    1. Commercial Communications should not be aimed at minors nor show minors consuming alcoholic beverages.
    2. Commercial Communications should only promote alcoholic beverages in media, or at events where majority of the audience is reasonably expected to be aged 18 years or older. They should not promote alcoholic beverages in media, or at events where majority of the audience is known or reasonably expected to be underage.
    3. Commercial Communications will only use models and actors who are at least of legal drinking age, i.e.18 years or above.
    4. Commercial Communications should not use objects, figures, symbols, colors, and cartoon figures of primary appeal to children or adolescents.
    5. Commercial Communications should not use brand identification such as names, logos, games, game equipment or other items of primary appeal to minors.
    6. Commercial Communications advertisement should not target any elementary, junior and senior high-school.
  3. Driving

    Commercial Communications should not suggest that the consumption of alcoholic beverages is acceptable before or whilst driving motor vehicles of any kind, including speed boats, jet-skis, snow-mobiles and airplanes.

  4. Workplace: Operating Machinery, Recreation & Workplace

    Commercial Communications should not suggest that the consumption of alcoholic beverages is acceptable before or whilst operating potentially dangerous machinery, or while undertaking any potentially hazardous recreational or work-related activity.

  5. Health Aspects
    1. Commercial Communications should not claim that alcoholic beverages may have therapeutic properties and that their consumption may help prevent, treat or cure any human disease or specific symptoms.
    2. Where permitted by law, Commercial Communications using truthful and accurate factual statements about carbohydrate, calories or other nutritional content may be appropriate in some circumstances.
  6. Pregnancy

    Commercial Communication should not show pregnant women drinking or target women who are pregnant. Sensible drinking information for women in pregnancy could be provided on labels.

  7. Alcohol Content
    1. Commercial Communications should not create any confusion as to the nature and strength of alcoholic beverages.
    2. Commercial Communications may present information for consumers on alcoholic strength but should not emphasize high alcoholic strength as a dominant theme in any brand communications materials. On the other hand, messages may not imply that consuming beverages of low alcohol content will avoid abuse.
  8. Performance

    Commercial Communications should not create the impression that consumption of beverages enhances mental ability or physical performance or has an energizing effect, e.g. when engaging in activities requiring concentration in order to be safely executed.

  9. Social/Sexual Aspects
    1. Commercial Communications should not suggest that the consumption of alcoholic beverages is a requirement for social acceptance or success.
    2. Under no circumstances should Commercial Communications be unethical, offend against generally prevailing standards of taste and decency or otherwise impugn human dignity and integrity.
    3. Commercial Communications should not suggest that the consumption of alcoholic beverages enhances sexual capabilities, attractiveness or leads to sexual relations.
  10. Sampling/tasting
    1. Common Standards and guidelines as per this code also apply to sampling/ tasting, i.e. not sampling to minors, intoxicated persons, or where people are potentially participating in risky or dangerous activity or where they potentially engage in anti-social behavior etc.
    2. Complimentary sampling to members of the public in public place including licensed or private premises, trade fairs or occasions must be in accordance with local regulations.
    3. Ensure the promotion teams are sticking to the rules; a training tool could be widely used to run sessions with such teams before they go on tour or to adapt the tool according to the needs by the organization wanting to conduct it.
  11. Premium

    The value of any free gift or prize offered to consumer as a premium must comply in accordance with the relevant national laws or codes.

  12. Compliance

    A body will be appointed by the members of the Taiwan Beverage Alcohol Forum to investigate and adjudicate on complaints made against members, either coming from within the membership or from the general public, with regards to adherence to this self regulatory code of conduct.


Annexes and References

These guidelines for responsible promotions are an integral part of the Common Standards for Commercial Communications. They apply in addition to the Common Standards and should therefore be read in conjunction.

  1. Point of Sales promotions

    Promotional activities of beverages can only take place at responsible manner and these guidelines are fully understood and communicated widely in sectors such as: retail, hospitality venue, tourism boards, educational bodies and institutes of the food service industry, promotion agencies and suppliers, events producers and organizers.

  2. Digital and Non-Traditional Media

    Internet based digital activity is a common channel in commercial communications that includes website, blog, Twitter, Facebook, Plurk, banner ad, email and SMS, etc. Commercial Communications on the internet represent an area that is still in an evolutionary development where new trends may occur rather rapidly. These guidelines will therefore be reviewed continuously and when necessary.

  3. Sponsorship

    Alcohol producer/distributor should treat sponsorship with the same due diligence and respect for maintenance of the high standards of responsibility that they apply to all other marketing disciplines. Should only be engaged in sponsorship agreements where majority of the audience is reasonably expected to be aged 18 years or older. Appropriate responsible drinking reminders or warning phrase must be included in all sponsorship activities and print materials.

  4. Naming, packaging and labeling

    The naming, packaging and labeling of beverage alcohol products manufactured and distributed by TBAF members must not use words in any way which may cause confusion with existing popular non-alcohol drinks. The alcoholic nature of a drink must be communicated on its packaging with absolute clarity and must comply fully with existing legislation on all items. Standard Drink unitary labeling supported by government recommended daily guidelines.

商業行銷自律規範 /臺灣酒類飲料業者的共同約定


前言

社團法人台灣酒與社會責任促進會(Taiwan Beverage Alcohol Forum)是以歐洲理性飲酒論壇(European Forum of Responsible Drinking)的商業行銷準則為基礎,並以促進會會員公司的高標準所共同編撰。此準則的目的是臺灣酒類飲料產業承諾以實現酒類商品高標準行銷法規為目標,但不會取代相關的國家法律或規範。

商業行銷準則最初是在 1994 年由阿姆斯特丹組織 (The Amsterdam Group)所草擬制定,並在 2010 年 7 月由歐洲理性飲酒論壇 (European Forum of Responsible Drinking) 再次增訂修改,做為酒類飲料製造商在行銷時遵循的準則與指導方針。此行銷準則反映了在 2001年歐洲部長理事會所關心的許多議題〝年輕人,尤其是兒童和青少年飲用酒精飲料的建議〞。

目的

台灣酒與社會責任促進會(TBAF)認為負責任的酒類促銷行為,對酒類業者與社會整體的利益是息息相關的。在本地行銷及生產的酒精飲料產品包括啤酒、威士忌、葡萄酒、烈酒,和所有其他含酒精的飲料,都應以負責任的態度與符合國家法律的規定,在購買年齡的要求-只銷售給18歲以上人士。此行銷準則適用於酒類業者所有的商業行銷方式,確保業者不會以不負責任的促銷手法與行銷方式,來鼓勵消費者任何不負責任的飲酒行為與態度飲用。


以下商業行銷準則為台灣酒類飲料業者所共同認可並簽署遵守的規範:

商業行銷溝通

商業行銷準則定義為:在所有品牌廣告或市場行銷溝通訊息傳遞給消費者,而不論所用的媒介(例如列印、廣播媒體、酒瓶標籤、包裝、互聯網、科技通訊和贊助)以及包括消費者和商店的促銷、推銷規劃與銷售網點所用的促銷製作物。

商業行銷溝通不包括:

  • 非產品廣告素材或媒體聲明稿,政府機構或公眾關注的社會議題,例如:瞭解飲酒相關的風險或利益、關注理性飲酒教育資訊揭露及酒精飲料在社會中扮演的角色。
基本原則

商業行銷溝通應該:

  • 是合法律的、正派的、誠實和真實的,並符合公認公平競爭的原則及良好的商業慣例;
  • 表現出強烈的社會責任感及基於公平原則及誠實信用的原則;
  • 在任何情況下都不會不道德或其他方面抨擊人性的尊嚴和正直性。
  1. 濫用
    1. 商業行銷溝通不應鼓勵過量或不負責任的飲用酒精性飲料消費行為,也不會以任何負面的方式呈現禁止或適量飲酒行為。
    2. 商業行銷溝通不應該呈現任何人看起來是喝醉了的,或以任何方式暗示酒醉是可以被接受的行為。
    3. 商業行銷溝通並不應該指向與暴力、侵略性的、非法的、危險的或反社會行為是相關聯的。
    4. 商業行銷溝通不應該表明或暗示對毒品文化或違法毒品是有關連或可被接受的。
    5. 負責任飲酒的警示訊息應在所有印刷物、電視、電影廣告片及公司與品牌的網站上標示。負責任的飲酒警示訊息必須明確清晰並明顯的標示在所有的廣告製作物,也包括網站。
  2. 未成年人
    1. 商業行銷溝通不應該針對未成年人為受眾者,鼓勵未成年人飲酒行為或是呈現未成年人消費含酒精飲料的圖像。
    2. 商業行銷溝通只應在受眾者主要為18歲或以上時的媒體上與活動中促銷含酒精飲料,不應在合理預期受眾者明顯是未成年的媒體上、或是活動中促銷酒精的飲料。
    3. 商業行銷溝通媒體只應錄用年齡至少18歲以上之模特兒或演員。
    4. 商業行銷溝通媒體不應使用主要為兒童或青少年所受歡迎的物件、圖像、樣式、符號及卡通人物。
    5. 商業行銷溝通媒體不應針對未成年人熟悉使用的品牌標識例如,名稱、徽標、遊戲、遊戲機或其他事物為行銷主要的訴求對象。
    6. 商業行銷溝通媒體的廣告露出,不可針對未成年人所在的小學、中學與高中做酒類產品的廣告。
  3. 酒後駕駛

    商業行銷溝通媒體不應該建議喝酒中及喝酒後開車或駕駛任何種類的機動車輛,包括快艇、射流滑雪板、雪上電動車與飛機等是可以接受的行為。

  4. 操作機械、娛樂和工作場所

    商業行銷溝通媒體不應該建議在喝酒中及喝酒後操作有潛在危險的機械,或同時進行任何有潛在危險的休閒活動,或與工作有關的活動等是可以接受的行為。

  5. 健康方面
    1. 商業行銷溝通不應聲稱酒精性飲料具有醫療效能及使用誇張或易生誤解之詞句,如有助預防、改善、減輕、治療或治癒疾病或特定生理情形等。
    2. 商業行銷溝通應使用真實的和準確的事實陳述有關碳水化合物、卡路里或其他營養內容物,在合於法律規範的某些情況下可能是適當的。
  6. 懷孕

    商業行銷溝通媒體不應該呈現孕婦飲酒,或以懷孕婦女為銷售目標。對於懷孕婦女飲酒應明智理性的資訊揭露,酒類飲料業者可以考慮提供在瓶身標籤上。

  7. 酒精含量
    1. 商業行銷溝通不應該引起任何對酒精性飲料的本質與酒精濃度混淆視聽。
    2. 商業行銷溝通可對消費者提出酒精濃度的資訊,但不應強調高酒精濃度為主題,作為主導品牌與消費者之間的任何行銷溝通廣告。另一方面,溝通訊息不應暗示及意味飲用或消費低酒精濃度飲料將可避免濫用。
  8. 能力表現

    商業行銷溝通不應建立飲用酒類飲料可能提高腦力、增加體能表現、或激勵影響的印象,例如:當從事活動必須集中注意力時,以便安全地執行工作。

  9. 社交/性關係的成功
    1. 商業行銷溝通不應建議飲用含酒精飲料的行為是具有社交成功或被接受的必要條件。
    2. 在任何情況下,商業行銷溝通都不應該是不道德,違背目前通行的標準與合宜的行為準則,或以其它方式去抨擊人的尊嚴和誠實。
    3. 商業行銷溝通不應建議飲用含酒精飲料可增強性功能,吸引力或導致發生性關係。
  10. 送樣/試飲
    1. 商業行銷準則和與指導方針,也適用於贈送樣品/試飲品嚐,即不應送樣給未成年人、已醉酒的人,或是有可能參與有風險或危險的活動,或他們可能從事違悖及違反社會公德等行為。
    2. 在公眾場所免費送樣給公眾是必須符合當地法規,包括領有牌照或私人樓宇、展覽會或商業場合。
    3. 確保促銷團隊都能確實執行商業行銷規則;廣泛運用行前培訓,確保行銷團隊確實執行,或依組織需要執行此商業行銷準則。
  11. 贈品

    消費者因購買酒類飲料的消費行為所獲得的禮品或贈品,其價值必須符合於國家當地的法令或規範。

  12. 遵守承諾

    不論是本會會員或是一般大眾,對簽訂本行銷準則約定之成員提出其違規事項,本會會員將指定一位代表調查與判定,以確保對此商業行銷準則承諾遵守的堅持。


附件和引用

這些指導方針是商業行銷準則一個不可缺的整體組成。此指導方針適用於商業行銷準則,應視為一共同標準,一起適用。

  1. 促銷點位

    酒精類飲料的促銷活動,只可以負責任的態度在適當地點執行,這些指導方針應該是被充分理解,而產業間應廣泛傳達這些行銷準則,例如:零售業、娛樂場所、旅遊業、教育機構與食品服務業,行銷機構與供應商,活動演出者與組織者。

  2. 數位和非傳統媒體

    在互聯網基礎下的數位活動是一個常見的商業行銷管道,包括網站、部落格、 twitter、Facebook、Plurk、網頁橫幅廣告、電子郵件和短信息等的商業通訊。在互聯網上的商業通信是仍在進化發展相當迅速的一個領域,且趨勢不斷變化。在有需要時,這些指導方針會經常被檢視與更新的。

  3. 贊助

    酒類飲料生產者/經銷商應注意與遵守行銷準則,在所有商業贊助活動以高標準為責任,酒類飲料業者並應將此紀律應用於其他所有市場行銷方面的贊助。贊助協定只有在約定的行銷活動場所中,受眾者主要為年滿18歲或以上。適當負責任飲酒提醒告示或警告標語,必須標示在所有的贊助活動中以及活動印刷製作物。

  4. 命名、包裝和標籤

    TBAF的會員在製造與經銷酒精類飲料的命名、包裝和標籤,必須不與現有在市面上流通的非酒精飲料品項引起混淆。含酒精飲料的性質必須絕對清晰的呈現在包裝上,所有項目都必須完全符合現行法規。含酒精飲料的標準單位標示須符合政府的每日飲用建議。