Punishment for Drunk Driving


New regulations from the Traffic Management and Penalty Act took effect on 1 July 2019. Driving a car or riding a motorcycle with breath alcohol concentration exceeding 0.15mg per liter, or blood alcohol concentration exceeding 0.03% is considered as drink driving offence.

  1. Increased fine. First-time offender: Car NT$30,000-NT$120,000, Motorcycle NT$15,000-NT$90,000; Repeat offender: Car NT$120,000, Motorcycle NT$90,000.
  2. Increase the suspension time of driver’s license.
  3. Passengers in vehicles operated by drivers with breath alcohol concentrate exceeding 0.25mg per liter, or blood alcohol concentrate exceeding 0.05%, are subject to a fine of NT$600 to NT$3,000. Those aged above 70, with disabilities, or in vehicles operated by commercial drivers are to be exempted.
  4. Ignition interlock device (to be implemented in March 2020)

    Persons whose driver’s licenses have been revoked due to the following reasons: repeat offence, refusal to take sobriety test, repeat offence on refusal to take sobriety test, drink driving which has caused death or severe injuries of others—are required to use ignition interlock devices when obtaining new driver’s licenses. The cost of which shall be undertaken by the offenders. Failure to comply will be subject to a fine of NT$6,000 to NT$12,000. Persons who perform a breathalyzer test for others will be subject to a fine of NT6,000 to NT$12,000.

    The specifications and functions of the ignition interlock devices, the types of vehicles in which such devices are to be installed, duration of the presence of such devices in designated vehicles, management and other obligations, shall be decided by the Ministry of Transportation and Communications, together with the Ministry of Interior.

  5. Punitive damages
    Commercial drivers who commit drink driving offence and cause damage to others and are thus held responsible, depending on the degree of victimization, shall pay a compensation up to three times the amount of damages.
  6. Increase drink driving fine for slow-moving vehicles
    Anyone caught riding a slow-moving vehicle such as bicycle, electric bike or tricycle under the influence of alcohol will be subject to a fine of NT$600 to NT$1,200, an increase from the current level of NT$300 to NT$600. Those who refuse to take a breathalyzer test will be fined NT$2,400, doubling the amount from the past.

Criminal Code
Reoffenders in 5 years and thus causing death, are subject to life imprisonment or imprisonment of more than 5 years; reoffenders who cause serious injuries are subject to imprisonment of more than 3 years and less than 10 years.

For more detailed information, please check out the 168 Traffic Safety Portal: https://168.motc.gov.tw/theme/package/post/1906241853507

酒駕罰則


108年7月1日道路交通管理處罰條例新法上路,吐氣酒精濃度超過0.15mg/l,或血液酒精濃度高過0.03%還騎車、開車,就是違規酒駕!

  1. 提高罰鍰,汽車(初犯)3-12萬,機車1.5-9萬;汽車(累犯)12萬,機車9萬
  2. 延長吊扣駕照期間
  3. 酒駕者酒精濃度酒測濃度達每公升0.25毫克或血液中酒精濃度達0.05%以上,同車者出新台幣600到3000元罰鍰,但年逾70歲、身心障者、汽車運輸業之乘客不在此限
  4. 酒精鎖(109年3月實施)
    酒駕累犯、拒絕酒測、拒絕酒測累犯、酒駕肇事致人死亡或重傷者而吊銷駕照者,重新考取駕照時,應裝設酒精鎖,費用由酒駕者承擔。違者處6000元以上、12000以下罰鍰。代吹者,處6000元以上、12000以下罰鍰。酒精鎖的規格功能、應配置車種、配置期間、管理及其他應遵行事項之辦法,由交通部會同內政部定之。
  5. 懲罰性賠償
    汽車運輸業的職業駕駛人因執行職務,駕駛汽車因酒駕等致他人受有損害而應負賠償責任者,負損害額3倍以下之懲罰性損害賠償金
  6. 慢車酒駕提高罰鍰
    電動自行車、三輪車等慢車,酒駕罰鍰將從現行的300元以上、600元以下,提高為600元以上、1200元以下;拒絕酒測的罰鍰也變成2倍,可處2400元。

刑法:
於5年內再犯因而致人於死者,處無期徒刑或5年以上有期徒刑;致重傷者,處3年以上10年以下有期徒刑。

欲瞭解更多細節請至168交通安全入口網: https://168.motc.gov.tw/theme/package/post/1906241853507